Announcing Elastic Rails

09Apr07

I’ve turned my capistrano/ec2 deployment recipes into a plugin. Installation is:

ruby script/plugin install svn://rubyforge.org/var/svn/elasticrails

I’ve also created a wiki at http://www.elasticrails.com (link) to facilitate commenting, revising, and editing the recipes.

There are several deployment gems out there, such as deprec, RailsMachine, SlingShot’s, and capazon. I prefer a plugin, because the library files are easier to find. I thought a wiki would be useful too to use a best-of-breed approach to aggregate recipes.

Check it out and add your own recipes to the wiki. I’ll take the best ones and add them to the plugin.

16 Responses to “Announcing Elastic Rails”

  1. 1 Tino

    Hey Steve,
    your posts about your experience with Rails+EC2 are great and big help for a EC2 newbie like me. And your plugin seems to be the missing sum of all.

    Thumbs up, Tino

  2. Great. I’m glad they are of some benefit. Also check out this screencast I did that I believe Amazon’s AWS crew will be posting to their development website:

    [video src="http://steveodom.s3.amazonaws.com/videos/elasticrails.flv" /]

  3. 4 Sean

    Awesome! I’ve been using your rake/capistrano stuff for my ec2 expirments over the last few days. This is truly a great thing.

  4. I’ve also been playing around with Rails and EC2. And been thinking of creating a rails app that lets you configure instances and launch them in a nice HTML environment ;). Also, have you seen this: http://capazon.rubyforge.org/

  5. Oh, sorry, you’ve already linked to capazon. Are you going to include deprec in your plugin since my setup uses apache rather than litespeed? See the capazon code for some alpha deprec code that works with ec2.

  6. Alex,
    One of the reasons I created the wiki at elasticrails.com is so people could share their recipes for deployment. Can you post the recipes you would like to the wiki? I will then take a look at adding them to the plugin.

  7. 8 Ralph Haygood

    Steve,

    Thanks for the plugin, video, etc. They’re very helpful.

    I’d like to know what you think about a matter I haven’t seen mentioned in any of the discussions of Rails and EC2 I’ve found. Running everything (MySQL, Rails, etc.) in a single EC2 instance is fine for development and private deployment. But for public deployment, if the application proves at least moderately popular, a single server won’t be enough. The next step beyond a single server might be one public-facing server running, say, Apache, one server running MySQL, and several servers running Rails, perhaps behind Mongrel. Do you think it would be practical or straightforward to implement such a multiserver arrangement in EC2? (I apologize if the question is naive; I don’t know much about EC2.)

    Ralph

  8. Ralph, once you get an EC2 instance up, then it is no different than a physical server (for the most part). You can optimize an EC2 instance to be a db server or a web server, using whatever linux packages and distros you want, and make them work together however you would using physical servers.

  9. 10 Ralph Haygood

    Thanks. I had that impression, but I wondered whether I was missing something.

  10. Does this require capistrano 1.x or will it work with 2.0 as well?

  11. Duncan, I haven’t tested it on 2.0. So i don’t know. I’d be curious as to your experience if you try it with 2.0.

  12. 13 Mike

    Hi Steve, how do you give a nicer domain name to your EC2 instance like niblets.com instead of that domU-1203-serverinstance-29282.amazon.blah.com thingy that is in the screen casts?? does it mean you have to maintain one server in a hosting company somewhere which runs your DNS and then run apache and proxy requests to all your dom-U’s on the EC2 side (if you wanted to run a pure EC2 instance)

    is something like that even possible?

  13. Mike, I use dnsmadeeasy.com I created an address records there and pointed it to my EC2 instance IP address. DNSmadeeasy is cheap too. I think I pay $30 a year. I might do a blog post one day on steps I took but its pretty simple.

  14. 15 Mike

    cool! thanks Steve! I”ll check them out.. btw, thanks for such an excellent writeup and the screencast (one of the best and informative ones out there!)

    cheers

  15. 16 Div

    Hi Steve , I tried as per this tutorial but I’m not able to make it work as you said. Since you are asking to copy few lines from example/deploy.rb in my application I couldn’t find anything like that.I’m using capistarno2.4.0 and amazon-ec2 (0.2.13)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

